Summer Storms

Intracoastal Waterway before the storm

When storms disrupted outdoor fun at the beach during childhood summers, my sister and I pulled out the Monopoly board. While disappointed when thunder forced us out of the pool or ocean, we found plenty of excitement in the quest to conquer Boardwalk and Park Place. On our recent trip to Figure 8 Island near Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, the clouds rolled in as we walked over to my cousins’ house for Saturday evening cocktails. As long as I have a roof over my head and a glass of wine in hand, I love to watch storms unfold over the waterway. We drove to dinner as the downpour faded to a drizzle, a rainbow arching over the north end of Figure 8. Every visit to my favorite beach spot reveals such magical moments, reminding me to enjoy the present instead worrying about the past or future.

Rainbow over Figure 8 Island

Leave a Reply

